• No categories

2009 Florida Book Awards winners

Florida Book Awards announced the winners for seven categories of books published in 2009.

The Florida Book Awards –the nation’s most comprehensive state book awards program– was established in 2006 to recognize, honor, and celebrate the best Florida literature published the previous year. It is coordinated by The Florida State University Libraries, and co-sponsored by the Florida Center for the Book, State Library and Archives of Florida, Florida Historical Society, Florida Humanities Council, Florida Literary Arts Coalition, Florida Library Association, “Just Read, Florida!,” Florida Family Literacy Initiative, the Program in American and Florida Studies at Florida State University, Florida Reading Association, Florida Association for Media in Education, Florida Center for the Literary Arts, the Friends of FSU Libraries, and Florida Chapter of the Mystery Writers of America.


  • Gold Medal Winner: Joan Hiatt Harlow, Secret of the Night Ponies


  • Gold Medal Winner: Jack E. Davis, An Everglades Providence: Marjory Stoneman Douglas and the American Environmental Century
  • Silver Medal Winner: Carlton Ward Jr., Florida Cowboys
  • Bronze Medal Winner: Todd T. Turrell, Naples Waterfront – Changes in Time


  • Gold Medal Winner: N M Kelby, A Travel Guide for Reckless Hearts
  • Silver Medal Winner: Janet Burroway, Bridge of Sand
  • Bronze Medal Winner: Ana Menendez, The Last War
  • Bronze Medal Winner: A. Manette Ansay, Good Things I Wish You
  • Bronze Medal Winner: Michael Lister, Double Exposure


  • Gold Medal Winner: Campbell McGrath, Shannon
  • Silver Medal Winner: Denise Duhamel, Ka-Ching!
  • Bronze Medal Winner: Jesse Millner, Neighborhoods of My Past Sorrow
  • Bronze Medal Winner: Peter Meinke, Lines from Neuchatel


  • Gold Medal Winner: Glynn Marsh Alam, Moon Water Madness
  • Silver Medal Winner: Diane A. S. Stuckart, Portrait of a Lady: A Leonardo DaVinci Mystery
  • Bronze Medal Winner: Jonathon King, The Styx
  • Bronze Medal Winner: Chris Kuzneski, The Lost Throne
  • Bronze Medal Winner: Tim Dorsey, Nuclear Jellyfish


  • Gold Medal Winner: Juan Cueto-Roig, Veintiún cuentos concisos
  • Silver Medal Winner: José Alvarez, Frank País y la revolución cubana


  • Gold Medal Winner: Alex Sanchez, Bait
  • Silver Medal Winner: Rick Yancey, The Monstrumologist

Comments are closed.